3d Nail Art – Mystical Mermaid

20150316_201812aHi guys! Some of you might remember a mermaid design I posted a long time ago called Mystic Mermaid. Well, this is basically a revamped version. I have been wanting to recreate it for some time and when I found some mermaid charms online I thought it would be the perfect time to do so! It is pretty close to the original but it also has a bit more flare to it now and I am really happy with how this one turned out 🙂

Around the same time I was creating this look (which was actually back in march- I was holding off posting it) I came upon Nail It Magazine’s search for some themed manicures to feature in their upcoming issues. They called it Snapshot and “Mermaids” was one of the themes for their upcoming July/August issue so I thought I would give it a shot and went ahead and submitted this look.

One of the requirements was to include a brief How-to, which was kind of tricky for me to keep “brief” because I really put so much into this design lol so I wish it was a little better written. Anyways, I took the liberty of including that how-to below, so if it doesn’t end up in their magazine at least it is here :).

20150316_201916How-to:

I started by applying a layer of Color Club Metamorphosis then sponged on Wet n Wild Stay Outta My Bismuth and KleanColor Mystic Grass in random areas. I then stamped over three fingers using a scales image from Pueen plate 15 with Kleancolor White. I adorned those same nails with various sized pearls, gold micro beads, and a couple 3mm gold seashell studs. I also added a gold mermaid charm for an accent nail, and completed the look by applying Seche Vite Top Coat.
I got all of the embellishments from Ebay.

Colors used:

Color Club – Metamorphosis
Wet n Wild Chrome – Stay Outta My Bismuth
KleanColor – Mystic Grass
KleanColor – White (for the stamping)

Seche Vite Top Coat

Image Plate:

Pueen plate 15

One thought on “3d Nail Art – Mystical Mermaid

  1. Pingback: Monthly Mani Favorites – April | Baroquen Nails

Leave a Reply

